Spark Creativity and Vocabulary with Picture Prompts

 


There have been many times when I come across a picture that seems to speak to me; that seems to be telling me it’s story and all I need to do is pick up a pen and put it to paper. This book adapted that idea  beautifully for the use of kids.

It’s a book of pictures asking for a story and that story will be provided by your kid. You can also use it to introduce the kid to colours and shapes and various artistic styles. How to use this book has been explained in its first chapter succinctly and clearly.

While flipping through, I did think that having a singular artistic style might be less confusing and more useful in an educational setup. Also, quite a few of the pictures were not as straightforward as I expected. Pictures best for making stories of are the ones, as far as I’ve noticed, in which there’s some activity going on or ones that are conveying some emotion or characteristic of its subject. Whereas, a couple of pictures in the book, I found were very pretty, but not as story-friendly. But, of course, one part of my brain tells me that I might just be underestimating the toddlers of today; most of whom are growing up in a multilingual and multicultural environment.

BOTTOMLINE: In this era of aggressive schooling and competitive examinations, I believe this is an admirable initiative by Shyamala Shanmugasundaram and all the contributors. So, buy a copy for your kids and let their imagination soar.

The eBook is now available on Amazon and Kobo

One thought on “Spark Creativity and Vocabulary with Picture Prompts

Leave a Reply

